Phase – Get the Heck out of Dodge

Day 61

I started daily (nearly) a COVID journal here on this blog at the beginning of the Coronavirus stay at home/school at home order. Today is officially the last day of school. Illinois is still under a stay at home order, but my daughter and I have left the state and taken up residence at my Mom’s house in Florida.  I’m sure there are all kinds of opinions over this choice. I’m not interested in them. I’ve watched over the last few weeks as my kid has sunken deeper and deeper into what I can only define as depression. She hasn’t seen actual people other than her father or me since the middle of March. She was quite literally dying on the vine.

So, Monday Arden and I got in the car and drove 19 hours to Florida. We are still staying home. We are just in a different home. We are still social distancing and wearing our masks, but we are able to feel the sun on our face and dip our toes in the surf.  We can swim (at a social distance) for a few hours a day.  We can sit on the balcony and watch actual people in the actual world. I don’t know if this decision was the medically wise one, but it was the only mentally wise one I could find.  And so here we are.

I’m not sure how long we’ll stay.  Arden says she could see staying for a year – I think my Mom was less than encouraging of that particular suggestion. We are just taking it day by day.  I’m a planner and a scheduler, but over the last few months I’ve had to surrender that part of my personality in favor of situations that are outside my control. I have no control over the government or the virus; I have no control over other people’s choices and opinions; I have no control over when this will end and when it will return to normal. I have no control. That is so hard for me. I like even the illusion of control. Currently, I have none. So, I’ve had to lean into this schedule-less life. Trust me when I say I’m horrible at it, and I have no desire to get better at it. But again – here we are.

News of the Day:

Over 4.4 million people worldwide have tested positive for the coronavirus, according to data from Johns Hopkins University, and more than 302,000 people have died.

In the United States, there have been over 1.4 million confirmed cases and more than 85,000 deaths.

The Democratic-controlled House of Representatives votes Friday on a $3 trillion stimulus package. The measure is expected to pass largely along party lines.

Some parts of New York state will begin to reopen on Friday. New York has been hit hard by the virus, with over 27,000 deaths.

Nearly 3 million Americans filed for unemployment benefits last week, according to data released Thursday. More than 36 million have filed since mid-March.

Plan of the Day:

Let the sun and water do a little healing.

 

Author: aprildjones

Mommy, Historian, Wannabe Writer.

One thought on “Phase – Get the Heck out of Dodge”

Leave a comment